Posted by: h4ck@lyst | November 12, 2007

Time zone

The united states has nine time zones.

These are the time zones encompassing the U.S. and its possessions:

  • UTC-11 Samoa Standard Time
  • UTC-10 HST Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time
  • UTC-9 AKST Alaska Standard Time
  • UTC-8 PST Pacific Standard Time
  • UTC-7 MST Mountain Standard Time
  • UTC-6 CST Central Standard Time
  • UTC-5 EST Eastern Standard Time
  • UTC-4 AST Atlantic Standard Time
  • UTC+10 Chamorro Standard Time

Time in the United States, by law, is divided into nine standard time zones covering the states and its possessions, with most of the United States observing daylight saving time for part of the year. The time zone boundaries and DST observance are under the authority of the Department of Transportation. Official and highly precise time keeping services (clocks) are provided by two federal time agencies: a Department of Commerce agency, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and its military counterpart, the United States Naval Observatory (USNO). The clocks run by these services are kept highly synchronized with each other as well as with those of international time keeping organizations.

It is the combination of the time zone and daylight saving rules along with the time keeping services which determines the legal civil time for any U.S. location at any moment.

Arizona Time Zones


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: